Title: Sakhmet's Incantation Of The Skull Storm
Description: Clarification of when it's resolved
aFlyinChickn - March 14, 2012 07:59 AM (GMT)
Hiya - this spell, to me at least, is quite vague. Casting it is crystal clear, but it's the "in subsequent turns" part of the spell which confuses me.
Does subsequent turns mean "subsequent caster turns" or "both caster and foe subsequent turns".
Also, which point in the turn would this take place? One would assume in the magic phase just after rolling for winds of magic....but I'd like some clarification of this.
themidget428 - March 14, 2012 02:36 PM (GMT)
IIRC subsequent turns is only on your turns.
As for when it's resolved it's the end of the magic phase. See the last paragraph for magical vortexes in the magic phase of the brb.
AegisGray - March 14, 2012 02:59 PM (GMT)
|QUOTE (themidget428 @ Mar 14 2012, 02:36 PM)|
| IIRC subsequent turns is only on your turns. |
what is IIRC?
Entropy - March 14, 2012 04:02 PM (GMT)
|QUOTE (AegisGray @ Mar 14 2012, 02:59 PM)|
| what is IIRC? |
If I Recall Correctly
Sleboda - March 14, 2012 04:28 PM (GMT)
According to the main rulebook, which spells this out rather nicely, whenever you see the term "turn" without a qualifier, it means "player turn."
Therefor, if the skullstorm moves every "turn" (which it does - I just checked), then it will move each player turn.
To me this falls into the category of "you don't have to like it, but that's the rule."
Just to head off any debate - It's not ambiguous. It's not unclear. It's not grey. You can't even use (or try to use) the AB>BRB argument since the BRB plainly says that even if you see the word "turn" in an army book it will mean "player turn."
24thDoor - March 14, 2012 06:57 PM (GMT)
This came up in my first TK game. A related question:
When in the magic phase is it resolved? Very beginning, very end, or player choice?
LevDaddy - March 14, 2012 08:49 PM (GMT)
The BRB says at the end of every subsequent magic phase.
aFlyinChickn - March 15, 2012 09:02 PM (GMT)
we came to this conclusion logically, except we resolved it at the beginning of each player magic phase.
i checked in my local GW and he said the same as posted above - at the end of each magic phase, but was his "interpretation".
thanks for the clarification
Sleboda - March 15, 2012 09:12 PM (GMT)
The good news is that it's not an "interpretation." It's the actual, printed, rule.
P31 of the rules deals with it and comes right out and says when Magical Vortex templates move. It doesn't need to be in the spell's description because it's a general rule that applies to all spells of this type.
24thDoor - March 16, 2012 02:45 AM (GMT)
Ah, good eye, thanks. This was my first 8th ed. game, so I must have glossed over that bit.
aFlyinChickn - March 16, 2012 06:59 AM (GMT)
When you are in the middle of games and are trying to find the rule quickly i guess you miss things. >.<
thanks for pointing it out exactly anyway
"At the end of every subsequent Magic phase, each magical vortex moves in the direction and distance stated in the spell."