Title: Lvl4 Death Sniper... How Does It Work
Chandlergriz - April 24, 2012 02:44 PM (GMT)
Ive been thinking about adding in another lvl4 to my list (or even a lvl2) to stick in my Kings unit to snipe character mounts and such (or so Ive heard). But my question is how exactly does it work? I know with the death spells you can target specific characters in a unit, or champions or even a Bell from under a Grey Seer. What about a Terrorgheist being ridden by a Vampire? And if I target these what would my Ld be (id assume 10 since Im in a unit with a King) and wouldnt the Bell or Terrorgheist gain the Ld of its rider?
Rokanos - April 24, 2012 02:51 PM (GMT)
I believe the spell states "unmodified" leadership, but I could be wrong.
Veritas - April 24, 2012 03:04 PM (GMT)
Unmodified Leadership being defined as the highest value in the unit, via the BRB FAQ. It simply is that you always use the highest in the unit, no matter the source (obviously, Inspiring Presence doesn't count because he's not in the unit).
AegisGray - April 24, 2012 03:24 PM (GMT)
I believe Death Lore spells target specific models; characters and their mounts are counted as the same model. If so keep in mind that unless the Troop type, or model/mount entry, allows you to target the mount and rider separately you can not specifically target one or the other and must follow normal targeting rules for those Troop Types.
Ridden Monsters do allow you to target the rider and mount separately. I'm not sure what the Screaming Bell is considered or the rules regarding it. >.>
Bad Mojo - April 24, 2012 04:12 PM (GMT)
Screaming Bell's LD is 0. However, the Grey Seer is 7. That means Spirit Leech compares against a 7. Plague Furnace follows a similar logic except the Plague Priest is 6.
So sniping against Vampire Lord led units isn't the best idea. However, sniping against non-mounted Terrorgheists is awesome since they have a lousy LD4.
Chandlergriz - April 24, 2012 04:23 PM (GMT)
Thanks mojo that answers my Q!