Title: Death Shrieking Into Combat
Description: Yes No?
staticelf - May 17, 2012 05:32 PM (GMT)
So I am trying out twin terrorgheists and last night the question came up to whether I can shiek into a combat that the terrorgheist is not in.
We decided that by the RAW you can shriek into combat...here is my supporting evidence.
Point 1: Death Shriek is a special attack done in the shooting phase. This means it isnt actually "shooting" so you are not limited by "no shooting into combat rule"
Point 2: The wording for shrieking says "has a range of 8" and needs line of sight to target. If terrorgheist is engaged in combat, its death shriek MAY target the unit in base contact." So I read this as you MAY shoot the unit you are in combat with or another unit that is in line of sight. So you can even shoot OUT of combat if you wished.
enTHRALLed - May 17, 2012 06:37 PM (GMT)
Says it all really - yes you can.
You can't shriek in the combat phase but if in combat you can shriek during the shooting phase but only at the unit that you are in combat with. Its very similar if not the same sort of thing with the Banshee Howl.
Preacher - May 17, 2012 09:23 PM (GMT)
Agree, that is how I play it until it get's FAQ'ed. I wonder where the VC FAQ is given they have been pretty quick with the other new book FAQ's.
staticelf - May 21, 2012 03:22 PM (GMT)
I know I can shriek those i am in combat with...I am talking about shrieking INTO combats the Terrorgheist is not in (because it isnt actually a "shooting" attack...)
So say my Zombie Horde has locked up some Chaos Knights. I feel that the RAW allows my Terrogheist to fly in behind/beside my zombies in combat and Shriek the Chaos Knights (while staying out of the combat itself) because it is a special attack done in the shooting phase against a unit that I have line of sight to and I can affect units in combat with this special attack (per the shriek rules)
Preacher - May 21, 2012 09:52 PM (GMT)
|QUOTE (staticelf @ May 22 2012, 01:22 AM)|
| I know I can shriek those i am in combat with...I am talking about shrieking INTO combats the Terrorgheist is not in (because it isnt actually a "shooting" attack...) |
Thats how I play it. The rules allow it via RAW as the only targeting restrictions are LOS and 8". I suspect it will be FAQ'ed the other way however. Which is a shame given my VC are pushing @#$% uphill anyway with unstable.