Title: High Elves
Description: Drain Magic!!!
Edmund - December 8, 2007 10:52 AM (GMT)
Interesting situation occurred to me recently while fighting High Elves. In order to get around the always strikes first rule (what a crock, I thought WS was supposed to determine how good a fighter you were, but I digress..) I employed a magic heavy army. Worked well too, however my opponent used the drain magic spell to attempt to block my dominance of the magic phase. Now he managed to get one off and in discussion with him he concluded that because the spell description did not specify “remains in play” that meant that I could not attempt to dispel that spell with power dice in my own magic phase. While I let him have it I have some real concerns about this position. What do you chaps think about it?
Razon - December 8, 2007 03:08 PM (GMT)
He is right, spell is "Last one turn"; so can't be dispelled.
However, why would you want to dispell it in your turn? Even if it was RIP, you get to dispell these spell at the end of a magic phase...
Edmund - December 13, 2007 11:55 AM (GMT)
The reason why I want to get rid of it is so that I can cast magic in my turn. Bit of a pain not being able to do that when that is what you want to use to win the battle.
Razon - December 13, 2007 04:15 PM (GMT)
Well, about RIP spells, either they are cast- and at the end of that turn you can't dispell them. And in your new turn you can dispell them, but only at the very end of it (thus ending your magic phase). So, you can't dispell RIP 'on time' to cast your own spells.
Preacher - December 13, 2007 10:23 PM (GMT)
|QUOTE (Razon @ Dec 14 2007, 02:15 AM)|
| Well, about RIP spells, either they are cast- and at the end of that turn you can't dispell them. And in your new turn you can dispell them, but only at the very end of it (thus ending your magic phase). So, you can't dispell RIP 'on time' to cast your own spells. |
Absolutly correct . . . so you need to stop that drain magic spell when they try to cast it. After that its too late.