i played in a tourny last week and when i tried to bring my lesser daemons in off an icon i was told that they cant use the icon since the latest chaos FAQ says you have to be a unit that consist of all termis or oblits so WTF on the lesser daemons do you still need an icon if they will scatter 2D6 based off this?
Last I knew as long as you had an Icon on some unit you could bring them in off that Icon. It shouldnt matter if its Oblitz or termies since Lords (i think) can take them. Regular troops should be able to do it but I honestly never ran with any daemons.
That's rule-lawyering of the highest level right there.
The FAQ means a unit of Terminators or Obliterators cannot use an Icon if they have any Power Armoured models attached. It makes no mention of Daemons, so only a :curse: looking for as much of an advantage as possible would imply that Daemons can't use Icons. Which is ridiculous since they need them to arrive.
I actually specifically says so in the Codex.
|... because they [Daemons] always appear within range of an Icon of Chaos, the Deep Striking Daemons do not roll for scatter...|
Whoever said Daemons can't use Icons need to learn to read, and get some common sense.